Original Songs from Connemara

Composed by Jon Melia (John O’Malley)

Track no Music 01 ‘Reeling in the years’ (courting in the hay shed) by Jon Melia.

Track no Music 02 ‘Treat me like Every Other’ by Jon Melia singer Martina Gavin .

Track no Music 03 ‘The Ghost of the Playboy’ -this is based on the true story of the Playboy of the Western World which is based on a true event in Ballyconneely in the late 800s,(with William O’Malley being  responsible for the death of his father) by Jon Melia singer Feichin Mitchell.

Track no Music  04 ‘Matt Conneely’s Band’ – this is a song about local musicians in Ballyconneely, by Jon Melia.

Track no Music 05 ‘No grant for me Ass’ (Donkey) -this is protest about the status of the Donkey (which has now been rectified) by Jon Melia.

Track no Music 06 ‘Sam is Back in Galway Again’- this about Galway winning the All Ireland football final in 2001 by Jon Melia singer  Feichin Mitchell also featuring Ollie Turner Galway Bay FM.

Track no Music 07 ‘Take the Sheep of the Mountain’- this is about the imposition of SACs (Special areas of Conservation) by Jon Melia.

Track no Music 08 ‘Cleggan’s Rugged Shore’ – this song is about all the fishermen that lost their lives on ‘Cleggan Seas’ – by Jackie Hannon,  words by Penny O’Malley music and arrangement by Jon Melia.

Track no Music 09 ‘The Redundant Casanova’ this is about the playboy who finishes his life alone with his pussy cat,  by Jon Melia.

Track no Music 10 ‘The Connemara Rugby Song’ – this song is about the Connemara Rugby Team that dominated Connacht Rugby during 1990s/2000s, by Jon Melia, also includes Dymphna Heanue and Peter Keane.

Track no Music 11 ‘Graveside Observation’ –  this poem is read by Colleen Curran and describes the percieved thoughts of a child at a mothers grave, by jon Melia.

Track no Music 12 ‘Goodbye to Errislannon’ – a new original song by Jon Melia and performed by Phil Bartley/Boote.